Jan 15, 2017


For full results, go to http://www.checkpointspot.asia/default.aspx


Winners of the Junior Master Category

Winners of the Master Category

Winners of the Men Open Category

Winners of the Women Open Category

YAB Dato’ Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali, Menteri Besar Selangor  at the start line.   

Winners of the Team Event Category

PULAU INDAH, 15 JAN 2017 :  Over 1,000 amateur cyclists from all walks of life converged in Pulau Indah for the first 180 kilometre cycling event of 2017 in conjunction with the upcoming Le Tour de Langkawi, scheduled to be held from 22 February to 1 March 2017.

The second edition of the race saw an introduction of the team event category with an initial allocation of 30 spots, but due to the overwhelming response, organizer Central Spectrum (M) Sdn Bhd (CSSB) welcomed a total of 34 teams with 10 cyclists each.

The event was attended by YAB Dato’ Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali, Menteri Besar Selangor and saw him joining other cyclists during the flag off.

The route starts from CSSB’s Office, Pulau Indah, taking riders through Selangor Halal Hub, Pulau Indah Industrial Park and into the Pulau Indah Highway to Banting, Jenjarom and across to Olak Lempit, Sepang, Sungai Pelek, Bagan Lalang Tg. Sepat and Morib then returning to Banting towards Teluk Panglima Garang, Jalan Pandamaran and back to the island crossing Pulau Indah Highway and finishing at CSSB’s Office, Pulau Indah, covering a total distance of 180km.

 There were five categories in contention with a total prize money of RM 40,000 up for grabs; Men Open (18 – 35 years), Women Open (above 18), Junior Master (35 – 44 years), Master (45 and above) and the new Team Event categories. The event managed to attract local amateur cyclists as well as international participation from 17 countries.

Chief Executive Officer of Central Spectrum (M) Sdn Bhd Mahmud Abbas, said that one of the key aims of this event is to promote Pulau Indah as a destination.  Pulau Indah has the potential to become a place where one can live, work and play.  The island is not only known for its industrial highlights such as Westports and big manufacturing companies such as F&N and Massimo Bread, but it also has a residential and commercial component to it. Pulau Indah is also known to be a very good fishing location and famous among fishing enthusiasts.

 The CEO wants to see Pulau Indah 180 (PI180) attracting more foreign participation in its coming series.  As he said it "Every time I do a promotional trip abroad, I would without fail promote Pulau Indah 180 as part of our product".  This is to build the branding of PI180 which saw tremendous spillover effect for the island.  Local business owners and operators sees brisk business during the event. Local homestays and nearby hotels are full in anticipation of the event, while restaurants and shops selling local produce are busy with customers. This makes Pulau Indah 180 something to look forward to every year for islanders.

Meanwhile, Chief Executive Officer of LTdL 2017 Emir Abdul Jalal said the introduction of the team event category is to enable cyclists to get experience riding as a group, “Today we get to witness the competitiveness of the teams while they battle for the top spot. I do hope all cyclists enjoyed the ride and congratulations to all the winners, also to all the finishers; just to complete the 180 kilometres is not an easy task so I salute you all.”

“Pulau Indah 180 is a pre-event promotional ride and also serves as a test run to make sure all our system run smoothly in preparation for Le Tour de Langkawi, coming this February. Our team made sure the organization of Pulau Indah 180 is run according to an international standard in compliance with UCI regulations; featuring professional race facilities that include race communication, commissaires and team cars.” Emir added.

Pulau Indah 180 is managed by Ciclista Sports Sdn Bhd, and supported by Majlis Perbandaran Klang. PKFZ, Selangor Tourism, Ramly, CSM, Garmin, Cycling Malaysia, RockTape, TireCare, FFM, 100PLUS, GURU, N8 Sport Nutrition and SUNPLAY.

Jan 12, 2017

IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness Ready For Debut At Le Tour De Langkawi After Strong Showing At National Championships

IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness riders on their training ride.

Joe Cooper celebrates at the New Zealand National Championships. (photo by Duncan Brown)

SHAH ALAM, 13 January 2017 : Newly crowned New Zealand champion Joe Cooper is set to headline the IsoWhey Sports Swisswellness team at Le Tour de Langkawi from February 22 to March 1st along with Cameron Bayly who came fourth behind three WorldTour riders (Miles Scotson of BMC, Simon Gerrans of Orica-Scott and Nathan Haas of Dimension Data) at the Australian championship held last Sunday in Ballarat, Victoria. On both races, the Australian outfit formerly known as Praties and Avanti showed its high standard.
“We don’t normally invite continental teams from outside Asia as we prioritize Asian teams in that category”, Le Tour de Langkawi CEO Emir Abdul Jalal explained. “But we have decided to make an exception for IsoWhey Sports Swisswellness because they are very competitive. The weekend’s results are just a confirmation of what we already knew of them. Richie Porte, one of the world’s best cyclists these days [5th in the 2016 Tour de France with BMC], was part of that team when as a young rider he finished tenth overall in the 2009 Le Tour de Langkawi with the Australian national team.”
Haas, Will Clarke, Patrick Bevin, Jack Haig, Nathan Earle, Steele von Hoff, Campbell Flakemore and more recently Chris Hamilton (Sunweb-Giant) and Ben O’Connor who will ride the 2017 LTdL with Dimension Data have all moved on to employment in the WorldTour ranks after being nurtured by coach Andrew Christie-Johnson who has embarked for his 17th season at the helm of the Tasmania-based squad. “I’ve always wanted to send my team to Le Tour de Langkawi, it’s an honor to be part of this race this year and we’ll line up with our most competitive riders for this particular event”, said the IsoWhey Sports Swisswellness team manager.
“I’m immensely excited about riding Le Tour de Langkawi for the first time”, added recruit Jesse Kerrison, 22, who also appeared in the best form of his life at the Australian national championship. He’s already established as a sprinter on the Asia Tour, having bagged a few stages since his first success at the age of 19 at the UCI 2.1 Tour of Taihu Lake in China. He’ll be the team’s sprinter along with experienced fast man Anthony Giacoppo.
“From Jay Sweet in the very first Le Tour de Langkawi in 1996 to Caleb Ewan in 2015, we have a long history of successful Australian sprinters and we’d be happy to see it continue”, Emir noted. In the history books of LTdL, thanks to sprinting stars Graeme Brown and Stuart O’Grady, Australia is ranked second in number of stage wins with 26 up to date while Italy leads the charge with 75. Duels between Italians and Australians are highly expected in bunch gallops in the 22nd edition of Asia’s premier Hors Category stage race.

Cameron Bayly, Chris Harper, Jesse Kerrison, Anthony Giacoppo, Sean Lake (AUS), Joseph Cooper (NZL)